1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

This is pretty cool

Discussion in 'Mini Lounge' started by Mighty Milt, Oct 9, 2008.

1. Mighty Milt

Mighty Milt Active Member

This is not advertising since it's not mini truck realated, but we just launched our website for the company i work for. i thought you guys might get a kick out of seeing one of the machines we use here. at the bottom of the page is the videos section. this is one of our four water jets in action. keep in mind the water coming out of the tip is a .040 stream pushing 60,000PSI and moving at a speed of MACH 2. it's really phenomenal. i've been working on the machines (mechanically) for over 2 years and am still amazed at what we can do. i cut through an 8" billet of T6, just to see if i could :D

http://velocitywaterjet.com/

2. Timetripper

Timetripper Moderator

Kinda makes a guy want to go to work with those kinda toys to play with :D
    8" billet in one pass - cool!

3. gbrad

gbrad Member

Hi Milt,

That is pretty cool.

I'm not really familiar with those machines, but I have seen big plasma cutters. What kind of power requirements does a machine like that need?
    Does the water jet perform better on certain materials?

It's amazing that water can be utilized in such a way.

gbrad

4. Mighty Milt

it's 480V and it's hydraulic over water. basically a giant electric motor turns a hydraulic pump which operates an intensifier. the indensifier changes the hydraulic pressure 20:1. so that means that 3000PSI haydraulic becomes 60,000PSI water.