1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

S83P Hijet Climber 4x4 early 90s starting issue fixed

Discussion in 'Daihatsu Hi jet' started by JoeBleaux, Sep 13, 2012.

1. JoeBleaux

JoeBleaux New Member

Here's our story, in hopes that it may help others. And for the record, this post is simply relaying my experience with our Hijet, not a recommendation to anyone to do anything and obviously, I don’t guarantee anything. I’m not a professional mechanic and don’t play one on TV, either.

SOME BACKGROUND

The patient was an early 90s Hijet exhibiting some starting issues after running fine for several years. One of the issues seemed to be a fuel issue, specifically slight flooding when attempting to start. The only resources or manuals we have are what is readily available out there on the web. We are in the US and while the little trucks themselves are not common, they are not particularly rare, either. However, parts, information and knowledgeable service people are almost non-existent, so generally, one is on one's own.

We assumed it was likely the carburetor in need of a cleaning or potentially, an issue with ethanol having caused some issue(s). For those that don't know, most of the gas in our area of the world is 10% ethanol blend, although you can readily find "real gasoline" at a higher price. Generally, we use the "real gas" in all small engines, boats, RVs - anything in which the gasoline will potentially sit for any length of time (say, over a month). While I know there are various additives for such E10/ethanol fuels (Star Tron, Stabil Marine, etc.) and they seem to work well, we simply prefer not to take chances when we don't have to do so. However, we had not been using "real gas" in this Hijet because fuel rarely sat in it long. However, recently it had been little-used and so, the fuel that was in it was probably 3-4 months old.

THE PROBLEM/SYMPTOMS: