1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

[SOLVED] Need Sambar Alternator

Discussion in 'Subaru Sambar' started by Diesel_Gypsy, Jun 11, 2021.

1. Diesel_Gypsy

Diesel_Gypsy New Member

Hello all . . .
    I have a 1991 Sambar KS-4 which needs a new alternator.
    It is a Denso 23700KA500. It had a dead armature.
    Nobody seems to have one and it is supposedly discontinued.
    Does anyone know what other alternator will fit on the EN07 mounting?
    Will a newer model Sambar alternator mount on the same mounts?
    Any help will be greatly appreciated!

2. Nimlo

Nimlo Member

I have the same model and now that you mention the non-availability of the alternator I’m sure mine will fail today :).

Have you tried Yokohama Motors, G&R, and the other usual suspects? I’m curious how this will pan out.

3. rkrenicki

rkrenicki Active Member

There are a few different alternators for Sambars.. they mostly vary in pulley type and connector style, but otherwise will bolt in. I did check the parts catalog, and I do not see any updated part number specifically for the 23700KA500 version though.

You may have some luck with BeForward. They have one that matches that part number exactly at the moment: https://autoparts.beforward.jp/detail/Electrical-Parts/Alternators/PA53796958/

4. Diesel_Gypsy

Diesel_Gypsy New Member

Thanks for the link. The picture they show is the right one albeit with a V pulley instead of the serpentine type I have, but that is not hard to change.
    The other "similar" products at the bottom show several newer Sambar alternators which have a different mounting. Are you suggesting that these would still fit on my bracket?
    These other ones have two wide spaced mounts on the pivot side where mine has a single wide mount.