1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Maintenance and repairs on my s110p

Discussion in 'Daihatsu Hi jet' started by DustyMerkin, Apr 21, 2022.

1. DustyMerkin

DustyMerkin New Member

Hey friends, when i bought my hijet i was told it was in excellent condition but after pulling it away from the port i knew otherwise. i am just a simple man, and have already fallen in love with the truck despite its flaws. Ive ordered new springs, struts, brakes and she clanks around from every little pebble on the road. Im not an experienced mechanic but i do have tools and a go getter attitude. Im hoping someone here will chime in and help me understand a couple things..

first of which is the CV joints. One of which has a torn boot. when i grab the axles and pull them in and out the move approx 1/8" - 3/16" and make a little clunk noise, both do this. However when i engage 4wd i dont notice any other unusual noises or anything.. Is it normal for those axles to move like that?

The second thing I am investigating... i found a small drip puddle of red coolant.
    I stuck my head in from both directions to check it out. and appears to be just a loose hose.. however following the drips up i noticed something on this plastic piece with a tab behind the engine belt. this plastic piece appear to have risen up a bit and made contact with the belt. the belt has already carved a small channel thru it. What is this piece and is this a problem?
    [​IMG]

Last edited: Apr 23, 2022
  2. fmartin_gila

fmartin_gila Well-Known Member

The axles will have a small amount of "end float" to compensate for the different length needed when the suspension goes from fully extended to fully compressed. What you are seeing is normal, but you need to get good boots on it to keep from losing the grease and prevent accelerated wear.

As far as your other matter, I am not familiar with your vehicle so can't offer any suggestions.