1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

I hope I can answer some of your questions

Discussion in 'EPA Regulations' started by texasnativeson, Jan 21, 2009.

1. texasnativeson

texasnativeson New Member

While I am a newbie to this forum, I am not new to most of the links in the logistics chain. I have been involved with shipping, importing and exporting since the early 1960s. Most people would call me a 3LP - third-party logistics provider. As such, I have a number of clients that have been in the past, and are currently importing Japanese minitrucks. I arrange the transportation all the way from Japan to their door, and I coordinate their Customs entries and E. P. A. compliance.

I hope I can answer some of your questions with some general information.

According to information provided by E. P. A. officials in Washington, there have been "several" requests for extensions.

There have been only two that have been approved - one is in Maine, and the other is in Texas.

According to the dealer in Texas, his extension is valid until December 9, 2009, and E. P. A. placed a cap of 200 units on his extension, and it applies to 2003 year models and older. While I have not yet talked to the dealer in Maine, I would assume E. P. A. placed a similar cap on his imports, as well.

I also read in my local newspaper, and in several web sites that the new administration stopped all "pending regulations that the Bush administration tried to push through in it's waining days."

Regarding regulations that went through too fast for the incomining administration to act on, President Obama has said "he will work to reverse the changes. But because the rules took effect before he was sworn in, he would have to restart the rulemaking process."

As of this time I don't know what, if any, impact this is going to have on the E. P. A., but there does seem to be a ray of hope here.