1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

HELLO FROM CONNECTICUT

Discussion in 'Daihatsu Hi jet' started by Tiburg, Nov 17, 2020.

1. Tiburg

Tiburg New Member

Hello all,

I recently imported a 1995 S110P and I am just starting to get familiar with it. Other than a few cosmetic clean up items, I really haven't gotten into it much. Overall, I was surprised how smooth this thing drives. I bought it purely for a recreational/yard work truck, but now I am planning on taking it on some weekend cruises, as well. Smiles per mile is worth the price tag alone.

I should preface this by stating I am by no means a mechanic. Just trying to learn along the way.

Through some searching on here, I have accumulated some of the basics (oil capacity, oil filter numbers, air filter numbers, spark plugs, etc.). However, when it comes to sourcing parts, I was wondering if anyone has advice, places to go, cross-referenced part numbers, etc.

For example, I also noticed when I changed the oil late last night that the drain plug was a little beat up and the gasket was in rough shape (Unfortunately; I expected to a copper washer like most vehicles I have worked on). Since I wasn't sure when I would get to store to look for a plug/washer, I put it back in. It seeps the smallest bit of oil, so I figured I would change it next oil change (or sooner).

I figured I would buy a new one this week, but am having trouble finding the correct part online (or even the size/pitch). Any suggestions without pulling the plug and bringing it to a local auto parts store?

I am sure I will have more questions along the way, so this is my intro/question/knowledge thread that I plan on building on. I'll post some more pictures, but this one is from the day I picked it up.

Cheers!
    Tim

Attached Files:

2. Jigs-n-fixtures

Jigs-n-fixtures Well-Known Member