1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Carburetor replacement

Discussion in 'Daihatsu Hi jet' started by Aaron Vaughan, Jan 7, 2021.

1. Aaron Vaughan

Aaron Vaughan New Member

Hi everyone! I’m new to the mini truck world and the forum. Thanks for having me. I’ve owned my ‘93 HiJet (S82 if that’s right) for around 3 weeks. The previous owner started working on it after it sat for 3 years and just couldn’t get it running and gave up on it. I changed the oil and filter and started cleaning the carb. Found a video on YouTube for adjusting the carb. Took 3 tried but finally got it running really good and reliable. I did however buy a new carb with the manual choke after attempt #2 of cleaning the carb. I want to put this carb on and do away with the auto choke items to lessen future (hopefully) headaches. I have searched the forum and I don’t see any info on gaskets needed (if any) or what vacuum lines go where and which ones get plugged. Just wondering if any could share that info with me. I’d also like to see a vacuum diagram if possible too. I’m not sure I got them all back where they are supposed to go. I lost my diagram I made to wind and rain so I had to make guesses where they went. I’m sure I got something wrong because the high idle screw assembly never get vacuum to pull it up once it’s warmed up. Any help would be greatly appreciated. Thanks.

2. Aaron Vaughan

Aaron Vaughan New Member

For whatever reason my signature isn’t showing up. So in short:
    Type: V-S82P-PRK
    Chassis Number: S82P-133999
    Year: 1993
    Electric fuel pump installed by P/O
    3 way dump bed on back (tilt back, tilt right, tilt left)

3. Jigs-n-fixtures

Jigs-n-fixtures Well-Known Member