Carb to TBI

Discussion in 'Performance' started by AeaRy, Oct 30, 2021.

1. AeaRy

AeaRy New Member

Hey Guys, I am new to Kei-trucks but have been a wrench turner most of my life. Gotta be honest though, my KS3 Sambar is the first carbureted motor that I have ever had to work on. Seems that upgrades would go much easier if there was a way to convert from carbed to TBI. Has anyone attempted or succeeded in this?

2. fletcher0780

fletcher0780 New Member

I converted my Hijet to EFI, works pretty well.

Limestone, Slashaar and Ryan Ash like this.
  3. AeaRy

AeaRy New Member

Yeah, I am thinking more TBI (Throttle Body Injection) which is a type of mechanical fuel injection vs a full re-wire + ECM/ECU addition to go full EFI. It's a nice middle ground that would allow for a turbocharger setup and intake modification.

4. Limestone

Limestone Well-Known Member

fletch,
    Please Tell us more what you did, with pics and details!
    I don't remember past posts on this.
    Limestone

Slashaar likes this.
  5. fletcher0780

fletcher0780 New Member

You're going to have a hell of a time with boost enrichment and boost timing retard if you're relying on a rudimentary control system. Don't be afraid of a few

Here you go, it was actually quite simple. I have $855 into the conversion and have full spark and fuel control.

[​IMG]
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]

And all the crap left over:
    [​IMG]

My next step will be a little turbo with a goal of about 75hp, lets see where the weak link is in these engines. I know I can keep my timing and AFR safe, it's just a matter of what those little bitty rods can handle.

moto1239, Slashaar, Ryan Ash and 2 others like this.
  6. AeaRy

AeaRy New Member