1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Bump Steer

Discussion in 'Suzuki Carry' started by Shrimp Daddy, Jul 12, 2009.

1. Shrimp Daddy

Shrimp Daddy Member

Setup:
    2" Xroads lift with 23" all trails on "99 Suzi Carry with limited slip front diff.

I've been driving the mini for a couple months now and this las week it feels like i'm have some bump steer if that is what it is called. I took it out slow today off road to feel out the steering. When I came to a hump or bump and crossed off camber to the obstacle the steering wheel wanted to turn in my hand when the front tire travels over the hump. I have also noticed that the steering has become less responsive when driving on the roads between 15-40 mph. Has anyone experienced this. In an attempt to head off the standard answers of; "They were not made to be lifted and run bigger tires". I am wanting to know if I need to look at beefing up the steering system or adding a steering shock if possible. And rather than you having to spoon feed me, is there a sight that addresses steering problems and how to physically check for failing steering components? Thanks Guys and Gals.

2. MichTrucks

MichTrucks Moderator Staff Member Supporting Member

Your kit from xroads doesn't have any camber adjustment in it's design I am pretty certain. Camber might not be the cause of your steering issues but it certainly won't help either.

Last edited: Jul 13, 2009
  3. Shrimp Daddy

Shrimp Daddy Member

Though the dealer installed lift may not have any camber adjustments, the cv, and camber angles are said to be left stock.

4. Badgerland

Badgerland Member

Shrimp Daddy,