1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Advice Needed: Looking between a Daihatsu Atrai, Suzuki Every or comparable microvan.

Discussion in 'Microvans' started by Edin, Mar 22, 2022.

1. Edin

Edin New Member

Hello all, I am new to JDM vehicles, but have always been interested.
    I have always wanted a mini truck/microvan but the shipping fees have put me off and the process seemed intimidating. However, I learned that one of my friends flips JDM cars to pay for university, and actually has a import license. Long story short, I am able to import a microvan and save significant amounts on shipping and broker fees, bla bla bla.

I live in Canada, so 15 year import law applies.

The Daihatsu Atrai/Hijet Van really caught my eye, but I am wondering if a Suzuki would fit my needs.
    The reason why the atrai caught my eye was:
    - Turbo (good for highway riding, nice rpm and gearing)
    - Manual transmission
    -4x4/AWD (Not really picky)
    - Cheap on gas
    So, I would like to just drive this van semi-daily and take it on camping trips and such, but I'm wondering which models have a combination of being reliable, parts are decently easy to find (I have a civic si I drive so I can wait for parts), would be good on highway trips, and has 4x4 or AWD for Canadian winters.

What model daihatsu would fit my needs?
    - 1994-1997 S130V: Has proper 4x4 w/ Hi-Lo in van version, also has all time awd with center diff, locking rear diff as option. EF-TS or EF-RS engine
    - 1998- ~2003 S210V:
    Only has Flex-4WD for van (fluid coupling similar to a Honda CRV), erroneously labelled as full time AWD in auctions. EF-DET Engine
    -2004-2006? S330-331G:
    4x4 with Hi-Lo available in vans again, all turbo models, have trouble finding a 4x4 MT in the auctions. EF-DET & KF-DET offered
    -2007 S331G?:
    Seems to bring back center diff full time AWD? Not sure about this one.