1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Help Subaru sambar problem

Discussion in 'Subaru Sambar' started by Jmfeed, Jul 30, 2009.

1. Jmfeed

Jmfeed Member

I have a 1990 subaru sambar s/c ks4 On the way to work this mourning I noticed when the supercharge light came on the truck lost power when i backed of the throttle it was fine as long as i didn't push it hard enough for the light to come on when i got to work i left it idleing and it died it was hard to start but i drove it to my mech. Does anybody have any ideas could it be the mass air flow sensor or throttle position sensor how do you check them? Thanks

Last edited: Sep 6, 2009
  2. Jmfeed

Jmfeed Member

Changed fuel filter puy some seafoam same problem when the supercharge light comes on it falls flat on its face .

3. starpuss

starpuss Member

Maybe you blew out/off an intake line?

4. Jmfeed

Jmfeed Member

what do you mean,, It revs up ok aslong as the supercharge light don't come on i will try anything i'm at a loss

5. Mighty Milt

Mighty Milt Active Member

i'm more a purist and have always stuck with natural aspiration... but what i know of forced induction would fit on a pin head, but i'll share it with you and see if i can help... and honestly this is just thinking out loud... please keep in mind the advice i'm giving is not vehicle specific but general and some, all or none of this may apply.

superchargers run a belt... make sure there is still a belt there. make sure it has the correct tension. i would probably go as far as to make sure it's still spinning, start the motor and have a look. i'm sure it is or you would have a terrible noise if it were frozen up.. but you never know.

check all your fuses, fusable links and relays.