1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

USA Legalities?

Discussion in 'Introductions' started by matt167, Jun 14, 2017.

1. matt167

matt167 Active Member

I'm a noob in NY. A local garage has started selling these trucks, and I saw one not too long ago with commercial plates, not Ag plates. Then it dawned on me, that, 25 years or older is federally exempt. I want one, but only if I can legally drive it on the road here in NY. I'm looking at early 1990's with the 660cc engines 5spd if I can get it reasonable.. I want it to be able to commute a couple days to work which is 40 miles one way and 50-55 MPH would be acceptable..

I looked up the regs for NY and it's confusing. It says the vehicles still have to meet " minimum safety and emissions standards even if federally exempt ".. I think as long as these have hazard switches, they meet pre 1996 inspection requirements for NY.... Are these things 49 state legal if they are 25 or older? The importers/ dealers seem to make you think so, but there is no info it seems on this site... What modifications are required, if any?

I do a lot with "JDM" stuff, but normally what I deal with is cut into pieces.

2. Tuskano

Tuskano Member

I have a pdf I use that has a lot of rules and stuff for kei trucks (although it was last updated on 2011). Says no laws for NY. Not sure who else is from there here that might know the details, but you can ask the garage selling them about them. If they are an importer of them, they should walk you through all you'd need or their limits being they are considered grey area imports.