1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Trying to install a new radio

Discussion in 'Subaru Sambar' started by John Shaw, May 22, 2020.

1. John Shaw

John Shaw New Member

My 91 truck came with a AM only radio that seemed busted. All that it would do was display the time, nothing else worked.
    I recently decided to upgrade and found an old radio/cassette unit that had the same two part wiring harness. I snaked the wiring harness out of the dash to test it before I installed it, the unit powered on and the controls workedwworked but there was no sound. I unplugged it to take the speaker out to see if that was the issue. I then plugged it back in to test again and this time only the clock came on, none of the controls work.
    Any thoughts? I'm pretty new to wiring and electrical issues so I'm not sure where to go from here.
    Thanks

2. Reese Allen

Reese Allen Member

You will need to identify what each wire is on your new head unit's harness, and also identify what each wire is on the old head unit's harness. Then, you cut the old head unit's harness off, and splice it onto your new head unit's harness so that it can be plugged into the connectors in your dash. This might be tough if you're trying to put in a head unit with no documentation. Sometimes the color-coding is standardized. https://learn.sonicelectronix.com/wiring-harness-color-standards/

You're going to have to do some wire splicing. If you're new to wiring I'd recommend going with insulated crimps. I personally solder and heat shrink everything. Avoid electrical tape, it just falls off over time and makes a sticky mess. Don't cut any wires on the vehicle side, only on the head unit side.

I wrote a post here about identifying the wires on the stock head unit harness. Mine is a '93, but I suspect the '91s were wired the same. http://reeseallen.net/sambar/2020/01/19/android-head-unit/

Limestone likes this.
  3. rkrenicki