1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Tires and Rims....help?

Discussion in 'Suzuki Carry' started by mjseiler, Nov 2, 2007.

1. mjseiler

mjseiler New Member

I am a new owner of 1997 Suzuki Carry. I have a 4 X 100mm bolt pattern with 12mm X 1.25 lug size. I am a hunter and horse farmer! I want to use my truck for on and off road use (black top and gravel). I am torn in my tire and rim decision between the Carlisle 489 or the Carlisle All Trail? I am interested in any and all opinions especaily if you own either! Thanks...Mike

2. Caleb Roth

Caleb Roth Member

I have 489's and they will go anywhere, I have heard that to run even 23" all trails you have to lift your truck because that don't have a rounded shoulder. I was also informed that if you drive in gravel the alltrails will sling rocks and break your mirrors.:)

3. mjseiler

mjseiler New Member

Caleb, Thanks for the reply! Do you have a lift? What rim's do you have? How does it drive, feel and turn on black top? What about high speed feel?

4. Caleb Roth

Caleb Roth Member

I have a 3" lift, only had it for about three days. I used the x-roadsimports.com lift. Everything seems to be working great on and off road.
    Right now I have stock rims and 23" 489's so everything is about the same.
    The truck feels like it catches just a little more wind. I am wanting to move up to bigger tires and wheels. Only problem is I have heard that 25" tires are too big and suck up all of your power making 5th gear useless.:)

5. swampfox

swampfox Member

tires, lift