1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Small lift

Discussion in 'Suzuki Carry' started by boatman, Oct 29, 2008.

1. boatman

boatman Member

Hi - ok, forgive me up front if this is a dumb question. I am a mechanical engineer, and I do design and manufacture a lot of stuff in industry, but I am not a very experienced motorhead (yet); so the cans and can-nots of the auto world are still new to me. If we were talking marine diesels and yacht systems, then I'd stand up tall and speak out, but this ain't the right forum for that...

Regarding a small lift on a '92 suzuki carry. Front end. I don't want too much of a lift - just a little more road clearance for snow on the dirt roads and the odd muddy trail I find myself on. I'll likely move to 13" rims from the stock 12's, and I realize this won't in itself require a lift, but a little would be helpful.

So all the lift kits I'm seeing on the market appear to be basically spacers on the front, and longer shackles or an add-a leaf on the back. no disrespect intended to those on the site who have developed and market them, but I'm thinking that there isn't a lot of magic here. So, if I wanted to get, say a 1" or maybe 1.5" lift, what's to stop me from dropping a strut, making a pattern from the head of it, and having a pair of solid steel (or aluminum for that matter) spacers with tapped bores made up, and bolting them in with new bolts? Ok I know nothing really is stopping me, but is there something patently wrong with my simplistic plan here? Camber adjustment, I hear the cry. for a 1.5" max lift - is that really an issue?