1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

S81P Hijet RHD 4x4 died and now won't start... I'm based on an island with no spares

Discussion in 'Daihatsu Hi jet' started by Maatsuyker, Jan 24, 2018.

1. Maatsuyker

Maatsuyker New Member

Hi all,
    I have been trawling this forum since sending a user request in a few days ago. I was unable to view attachments until now. Thanks for a great forum.

I am currently based on Maatsuyker Island, Tasmania. It's just myself and my partner for 6 months and we have limited spares for 'Dave' the Daihatsu. We have nearly every tool in our workshop though. Dave is an S81P 4X4 547cc (think this is correct?). This S81P has the diff lock button. Maatsuyker is a coastal island and cops extreme weather, as you can imagine corrosion/rust is a big problem here. My background is not as a mechanic but I have always been a home mechanic and from this have moderate knowledge for a home DIY person.

Service history of car:
    • I think Dave was last serviced in 2015 prior to us.
    • On the 22nd December 2017 we changed: engine oil, spark plugs, fuel filter, condenser, air filter. The only other spares we have are points, v-belts and all fluids.
    • I believe timing was last set in 2015.
    Problem with car:
    • On the 23rd of January 2018 I was driving Dave from one end of the island to the other (it is less than a mile long). The final hill is quite steep, we use low range to get down it. When I got to the bottom of the steep hill and backed into the turnaround spot Dave began to run really rough. By this point I would say I was on more level ground at the bottom of the hill. He wouldn't accelerate smoothly at all, kind of felt like he was running on one cylinder? After about a minute of barely idling and feeling like I couldn't rev the car at all he died.