1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Rough start up?...

Discussion in 'Subaru Sambar' started by Spdracr, Jan 25, 2008.

1. Spdracr

Spdracr New Member

I have a 99 EFI SC sambar. When I start it in the morning it is hard to keep running. It stumbles and sputters. Sometimes when it is cold it takes a few times starting and giving a little throttle or not to get it running. Then finally in a minute or so it just starts running fine. The colder it is the worst it is. What is wrong with it or what do I need to do? I didn't think an EFI engine is supposed to act like this. Shouldn't it just start up and idle right? After I get it idling right if I don't let it warm up good I will try to drive it and it won't run right and then I will give it enought gas it will just start running right. I can't figure this out. Any ideas to check? I had a 98 minicab that did the same thing then finally quit. I think it is in the distributor. Surely both of these can't be the same thing. Is this some simple fix?

2. Wolfman

Wolfman Member

May simply need a valve adjustment. They sound a bit too tight. I don't know if the Subie is the same, but my Dahihatsu has shims on the valves, and must be swapped out when they get too tight.

3. Spdracr

Spdracr New Member

Valve adjustment

I am not saying it isn't the valve adj. but it runs very well after the initial rough start. It acts like it is flooding or something. Then after a little bit of rought idle it will just run fine.

4. nick

nick Member

Any trucks I've gotten in that acted this way get the tune up routine. Cap, rotor, new plugs, and new fuel filter, check the air filter. That takes care of 99% of the issues. I'd do that stuff before I mess with adjusting valves etc. I've had trucks with 89,000 km and am sure I'm pulling out the original spark plugs. Often electrodes are mostly burnt off etc.