1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Rough shifting

Discussion in 'Subaru Sambar' started by Dillon Nunes, Aug 6, 2019.

1. Dillon Nunes

Dillon Nunes New Member

I have a 1994 Sambar 5 speed manual with extra low. 35,000kms on it. Shifting from 1st to 2nd is usually pretty rough. It usually pops into gear with a slight grind sometimes. Shifting 2nd to 3rd is hit and miss. Sometimes smooth sometimes a pop into gear. Shifting into 4th or 5th is always smooth. Same with down shifting though all gears, never have a problem.

I recently changed the transmission oil to 80w90 mineral oil. It didn't seem to make a difference, if anything slightly worse. The oil that came out looked clean and not much for metal shavings on the drain plug.

Any ideas on what my problem may be? Thank you

2. Jigs-n-fixtures

Jigs-n-fixtures Well-Known Member

Are you sure the clutch is working right?

3. Maximal

Maximal Active Member

hope you used GL-4 gear oil, because GL-5 has sulfur compounds that will absolutely chew synchros in old transmissions

otherwise ive never used 1st gear in these trucks, even trying a 1-2 shift feels notchy in every Sambar ive owned. i always take off in 2nd gear and barely if ever use 1st

4. Dillon Nunes

Dillon Nunes New Member

I'm pretty sure my clutch is working right as it shifts fine in other gears. Might be worth trying to adjust it and see.

I did use GL-5 gear oil. I only have out on maybe 150 kms though since the change. I didn't realize it was bad for it. The guy behind the counter said GL-5 can be used for GL-4 applications.

I usually start in 2nd too but still thought it should shift smoothly

5. Maximal

Maximal Active Member