1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

power loss? help

Discussion in 'General Truck Info' started by jwetovick, Oct 19, 2011.

1. jwetovick

jwetovick Member

I purchased a 95 mitsu minitruck about 2 months ago. The past two weeks I've noticed it acts like its lagging in power. Feels like it wants to go but just cant do it. Starts and idles awesome but just feels like something is holding it back?? What could it be? Im a newbie and is my first truck. I don't really know what to expect from these minis. I have 23 in mud tires and the fastest i can get it to go is about 75km. Is this normal? What might be holding it back? Has new plugs, fuel filter, distrib cap. Please help as I need this thing in top shape for hunting season!! Thank you!

2. Ran440

Ran440 Member

Did you check the air filter?

3. jwetovick

jwetovick Member

I did. Thanks. Brand new filter. I took the cover off, etc to check it and I assume I got the cover back on just fine. However it was after I did some simple check overs that this prob occured. Checked filter, and few other simple things. What could have I screwed up?? this truck ran great and compression was checked out and is good, etc. something????? what could it be???

4. fupabox

fupabox Well-Known Member

what fuel filter did you use? was it a stock replacement or a universal? could be restricting fuel flow..though you would think it would sputter at higher speeds...could have knocked the timing out of whack when the cap was changed...air filter may be restricting as well ..also possible to knock a vacuum hose off while working near the carb...

5. jwetovick

jwetovick Member