1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Points or Electronic Ignition

Discussion in 'Suzuki Carry' started by Rickyb, Dec 4, 2008.

1. Rickyb

Rickyb New Member

I've got a 1989 Suzuki Carry with the F5A 550cc, it has got ignition points. Does anyone know where to find new ones, or is there a electronic conversion available.

2. Mighty Milt

Mighty Milt Active Member

i would check with the site sponsors (their ad banners are at the top of each page) most of them carry spare parts. if you are thinking aftermarket electronic ignition i would try pertronix. they have always been real helpful for me when i call their info hot line, just have your distributor number handy they'll need it.

3. BillinOregon

BillinOregon Member

Don't laugh at this post as I am not a mechanic - I had no idea this was possible - very cool idea. Hopefully we will get some posters with some Mini experience replacing the points with an electronic. Maybe I will give it a try.

4. Mighty Milt

Mighty Milt Active Member

it's really a basic idea (i was surprised how easy they are to install). you take off the rotor, the points and condensor. you slide a collar over the distributor shaft that has the same amount of magnets as cylinders, you screw the magnet sensor down where your points used to be, adjust the gap then plug the red wire to the + on the coil and black to the - on the coil and you are off. they make the engines run a lot smoother and more reliably. i've put them on old VW's, old chevy 6 cylinders, and just about anything else i've gotten my hands on that still ran points.

5. We have the points for the good ol 550's. To change to electronic you will also need a bigger alternator and change your in-line fusable links. www.yokohamamotors.net

Cheers,
    Don

6. TMB FARM

TMB FARM New Member