1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Loss of Power (Loss of innocence.)

Discussion in 'Honda Acty' started by NolaNeal, Feb 7, 2022.

1. NolaNeal

NolaNeal New Member

Hello, I’m a total newbie so I apologize in advance for not knowing anything. Any help or guidance would be greatly appreciated.

This past Friday I purchased a 1990 Honda Street (Chassis: HH4-1024733, Engine: E07A, Manual Tranny) from a dealer in Mississippi. It was dark and cold by the time I got to Mississippi and I took the van for a short test drive. Too short. I know better than to do that but it was cold and I liked the car and I was ready to get home. You buy a 30 year old car, you buy it’s problems. But I thought my honeymoon with my first kei van would be a little bit longer than “zero days.”

On Saturday I took it off of the trailer and started driving it around and within 5 minutes I noticed that at high rpm’s in third it would lose power. Not completely, it would just throttle down significantly. All of a sudden it made sense why the dealer, who was driving the car for all but a very short amount of time, had so much trouble “finding the gears”. And I realized that when I did my test drive I was shifting well before redline. Had I revved up each gear a bit more I would have experienced the drop in power.

I drive the van around a bit more yesterday and realized that this loss of power happens in 2, 3, 4, and 5 but only when the accelerator is pressed down all the way down.

If you hold back just a tiny little bit from pressing the gas down all the way it will rev up to redline or near redline in each gear and you can shift normally. But when you press the gas down past a certain point it throttles back. It feels like when you drive a golf cart with a governor on it.