1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

How wide is too wide?

Discussion in 'Suzuki Carry' started by Archer-Andy, Feb 28, 2008.

1. Archer-Andy

Archer-Andy Member

On a stock 99' Suzuki with no lift and standard 7"x12" wide wheels with no wheel spacers:

How wide of a tire can you fit on the front without a rubbing issue?
    How wide of a tire can you fit on the rear?
    Will 23" tires fit on a stock truck without a lift?

I was considering putting 23x8.5x12 on the front and 23x10.5x12 on the rear?
    Actual dimentions for front are 22.4" tall and 8.2" wide
    Actual dimentions for rear are 23.3" tall and 10.0" wide

I am new to mini's and I'm still learning what you can and can't do to these trucks. This site is a wealth of knowledge! Any help would be appreciated.

Thanks,
    Andrew

2. willyboy

willyboy Member

I was going to buy that truck but like everything else a day late and a dollar short. LOL HeadyDog looked like he took good care of that truck.

3. IndianaJason

IndianaJason Member

I have got 23's on mine with no problem at all. The rear really isnt an issue at all, the front isnt either but with the rear stationary/non-turning it doesnt matter. I have had the trucks suspension maxed out on unlevel ground, wheels turned and not even close to rubbing. They are 6x12x23 on stock rims.

4. Archer-Andy

Archer-Andy Member

Thanks guys. Is the extra width on the front an issue when turning?

5. IndianaJason

IndianaJason Member

Hey I was just looking at your dimensions on the tires you are considering. I'm not sure why the front and rear, both being 23's are actually different in height? Was that a misprint or?

You should never put different height tires from front to rear on a 4wd. I know its only less than an inch, and not sure exactly what that calculates to as far as changing the ratios, but rule of thumb is never have different height tires on a 4wd.

6. Archer-Andy