1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

How to make more torque?

Discussion in 'Performance' started by KCCats, Oct 3, 2017.

1. KCCats

KCCats Active Member

Im a snowmobile mechanic and I know how to build HP out of a 2 stroke!
    But in a 4 stroke about the only thing I know of is to increase stroke to make more torque?
    I plan on reworking my exhaust manifold (unless some one makes a header for the Suzuki 660?)
    And have been toying with the Arctic Cat 660 motor that makes 80hp stock!
    But have hit dead ends when it comes to anyone knowing what all is different?

So how do you make torque? Not as concerned about top end HP!

2. KCCats

KCCats Active Member

Does anyone have any ideas on how to get more torque out of the little 660?

3. matt167

matt167 Active Member

The same way the factory does.. TURBO. The turbo manifold is not very expensive. Around $150. A fitting but cheap turbo can be had for another $150-200. The only thing that it comes down to is fuel. Turbocharging with a carburetor is tricky, but doable. You only need to make about 5 PSI to create 66hp

Trey 4x4 likes this.
  4. KCCats

KCCats Active Member

Again that's adding HP and usually that is only at the upper end of RPM.
    Not low end torque

5. matt167

matt167 Active Member

hp is a calculation of torque at 5,250 rpm. so both go up.. Turbo can spool at a low RPM if it's sized accordingly

6. KCCats

KCCats Active Member

But Im looking for more at 1000 rpm when Im letting out the clutch with a load on!

7. matt167

matt167 Active Member