1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

How to drain the cooling system in a 1998 Sambar

Discussion in 'Subaru Sambar' started by JTT3, Jul 29, 2020.

1. JTT3

JTT3 Member

Hi all I’m new to the Sambar KS4. I’m trying to drain all the fluids and put fresh in but having trouble locating a way to drain the radiator. So far I’ve flushed it by cranking it and running the engine either the radiator cap off and a garden hose running water constantly and waiting for it to run clear then drive it around and repeat. There has to be an easier way so HELP ME PLEASE. Thanks John

2. Ohkei Dohkei

Ohkei Dohkei Active Member

I've never done it, but the manual says the radiator drain plug is on the front left (passenger on RHD) bottom of the radiator. It also lists a drain hose on the drivers side along the frame near the rear of the cab. I have read enough posts that getting air bubbles out is more of an issue than getting them in. You can download the manual on this site if you do a search. Good luck!

3. JTT3

JTT3 Member

Thanks for the reply. Kept trying to down load the manual with no success. Wish I can get it.
    Thanks again. John

4. Koffer

Koffer Active Member

Yeah there’s a drain on the bottom of the radiator, it’s in the bottom tank on the right side , it looks like a plastic wing nut and has a small stub sticking off the bottom you can put a small tube on to control the draining into a bucket . Sometimes you’ll have to unscrew the whole wing nut thing if the drain slit in the drain valve or drain nipple is clogged

5. JTT3

JTT3 Member