1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

How about blocking the EGR?

Discussion in 'Suzuki Carry' started by Anne Sweeney, Jun 20, 2016.

1. Anne Sweeney

Anne Sweeney Member

Its a long debate but anyway do we get any gains if we block EGR's of these little trucks?

2. fmartin_gila

fmartin_gila Well-Known Member

Statute of Limitations has long since passed so I can divulge now what I used to do. I worked as a fleet mechanic until 1990 when I retired. On the fleet vehicles with gas engines and EGR Valves would occasionally malfunction(usually stick slightly open thusly bleeding exhaust into the intake all the time and usually caused by small particles of carbon), I would make a thin steel plate the same shape as the mounting surface and seal it with exhaust sealant. Very hard to detect and cured the bad running problems. During those years the different manufacturers tried so many different schemes to meet the Govt mandated emission specs. Some worked well and some not so well. This was my method for dealing with one "solution" that did not work so well.

Fred

3. Anne Sweeney

Anne Sweeney Member

So will it make any noticeable increase in power? I have always thought whatever any steps towards a green engine means taking aways its power.

Freybird likes this.
  4. Tony Evers

Tony Evers Active Member

Anne could you explain what an EGR valve is

MyFirstMini1990s83p likes this.
  5. fmartin_gila

Exhaust Gas Recirculation valve - allowed a small portion of the exhaust gasses to be introduced into the intake manifold under certain running conditions. Supposedly lowered combustion chamber temperatures and thusly lowered emissions at a small loss of power & efficiency. I don't know if it actually helped with emissions, what I know is that the EGR valve caused a lot of bad running engines and as a fleet mechanic my job was to keep them all running as best I could.

Fred

Anne Sweeney likes this.