1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Heater core question

Discussion in 'Daihatsu Hi jet' started by paulebrown, Nov 20, 2012.

1. paulebrown

paulebrown New Member

I just bought a 92 Daihatsu hijet dumptruck with plow. It has no heater core so far as I can see. The controls are there and the blower is there, but I see no heater core. The heater hoses are connected under the cab, making a look back to the engine. I think I need a heater core but don't know where it would go, probably somewhere between the fan assembly and the intake under the dash. This also has an inop AC, with a housing just forward of the shifter. It has a radiator in it for the cooling. Is it possible that it's also used for the heater? As anyone would guess, I'm no mechanic. Anyone got advice or most important, a diagram?
    Thanks,
    pb

2. cbarlow

cbarlow Member

Well does the heat work?

3. paulebrown

paulebrown New Member

No, nothing. Fan blows cold

4. cbarlow

cbarlow Member

Put it on heat and put it on defrost or feet and see if it works for some reason the heat wont work on the front vents

5. paulebrown

paulebrown New Member

It does not heat. The heater hoses are disconnected from the heater unit and re-connected under the cab and make a loop back to the engine. It appears that a previous owner removed the heater core and put in a little electric heater to defrost the windshield. That won't work in NH.
    pb

6. spaner

spaner Well-Known Member

give Todd a call, bet you he has a wreck in the yard

minitruck.ca

7. paulebrown

paulebrown New Member

Thanks, any help I can get...

8. spaner

spaner Well-Known Member

No prob, you'll have to become at least a novice on this make model to figure a problem like this out.
    The information is here for sure, or someone has the model in operating condition.
    Todd can get you started, then start reading and searching.