1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Hatfield McCoy trail system

Discussion in 'Mini Lounge' started by volkswagen50, Apr 2, 2008.

1. volkswagen50

volkswagen50 Member

Currently mini trucks are not allowed on the Hatfield McCoy trail system. The side-by-side crowd is though. So I took a comparison from the web of ours vs/ them and wrote a nice letter to the BOD of the system. Here is what I said:

"Hello, my name is Greg Brunelle. I am an avid offroader, atv rider and outdoorsman. I’ve been riding for 20 years. Not too long ago I was told about your trail system by a co-worker, I’d never heard of it because I had only recently moved to South Carolina from another part of the country. The website you have is great, very informative, and well organized. But I was disappointed to see that side-by side UTVs have to be approved and on a list to be allowed. I was wondering if it was because of insurance reasons or otherwise.

Recently I was looking to buy a side-by-side vehicle so that I could take friends with me. After looking around on the web and comparing models, I was going to buy a used Kawasaki Mule. New ones were just out of my price range. Then I saw something called a Japanese mini truck. It was only a foot longer weighed about the same, had similar HP, tires and size overall. But it has a good ol’ manual gearbox, transfer case and drive shafts like offroader should. With rollup windows, heat, even a radio or AC if I wanted to spend some more money. So I bought a 1993 Mitsubishi MiniCab. A 3” lift gave it plenty of room for Carlisle tires, had a low range 4wd unit and real heat. Seat belts too! Being built as a production vehicle in the Japanese domestic market, I expect it to long outlive any UTV.