1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Gearing question

Discussion in 'Honda Acty' started by David Tucker, May 1, 2021.

1. David Tucker

David Tucker New Member

The answer to this may just be "it's an old car" but I'm new to working on cars so I'll just ask.

The speedometers on these trucks have the little recommended gear ranges for 1st, 2nd, and 3rd but I find I'm in 4th by the time I'm going 30mph, not getting anything close to range indicated on the speedometer. Is this normal? I know the gears on these are notoriously short - if I'm rolling at all I skip 1st - but what accounts for it being so different than what the speedo seems to suggest? Should my gears have more range in them?

2. Limestone

Limestone Well-Known Member

Dave,
    Sounds pretty normal to me, with these small engines. Maybe some one has a more scientific answer as to what the book recommends on speed, and rpm's! I'm old school, so if it's running good, and shifts good, no noises, then I'm good with it! Same here, if I'm rolling, then no need for 1st gear, could actually cause problems!
    Limestone

3. trktrd

trktrd Active Member

I think the markings on the speedometer are like red lines for each gear. Engine would be screaming at each shift point indicated. Only use the reference points when at the drag strip putting on an exhibition of blistering speed and raw horsepower.

Adam C Spry likes this.
  4. shogun

shogun Active Member

I also understand it that way, red lines for each gear, so if you drive for example in 2nd gear you should not exceed the shown mark

5. Jigs-n-fixtures

Jigs-n-fixtures Well-Known Member

I’m guessing that the redline for these little engines is in the 9000-rpm range, and most folks are under revving them. Being used to larger American V8s, with redlines of 5000-rpm, we shift too soon, and don’t let the engine get up-to the torque curve.

Adam C Spry likes this.
  6. Limestone