1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

FNG

Discussion in 'Introductions' started by JONATHAN HAMMONDS, Apr 28, 2023.

1. JONATHAN HAMMONDS

JONATHAN HAMMONDS New Member

Good morning guys. I am brand new to mini trucks. Just picked up a 1996 Suzuki carry, dd51t, bone stock. The owner apparently went cheap on it, meaning they ordered it without a radio and some other items, such as, the chains on the tailgate. Will be looking to draw from the knowledge base in here in the future.

2. kyrbz

kyrbz Member

Hello, I have the exact same truck. The radio that came in these trucks was an AM radio with built in speakers. After looking what AM stations were available locally, I quickly decided I needed to do something about this situation. I didn't want to spend a lot of money and didn't want to go through the hassle of installing speakers. That being the case, there's really only one stereo available that is a 1DIN radio with built in speakers. It's an easy install. The sound is OK and it's FM/Bluetooth. IMO its a little ugly. Pyle used to make a much nicer looking one, probably better sounding as well, but I couldn't find the Pyle radio anywhere. I watched a video on YouTube of someone else installing one which helped greatly mainly with some hidden screws that have to be removed. Here's a link to the one I used.

https://www.ebay.com/itm/2660371396...e87lZN9LnmPsrFpdo5p/DDGwhQ==|tkp:BFBM1qbIkPlh

In regard to chains, I've only seen one seller that has "Suzuki" chains in stock. Yokohama Motors in Japan has them but with shipping they become very expensive. You see Honda Acty chains cheap everywhere. I posted own this forum asking if there are any Acty owners that could measure the hole pattern on their truck to see if the Honda chains would fit on my Suzuki. I never got any replies. I ended up making a set with pieces I put together from hardware store.

3. JONATHAN HAMMONDS