1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Exhaust Gasket

Discussion in 'Daihatsu Hi jet' started by splauchs, Sep 17, 2013.

1. splauchs

splauchs Member

Hello everyone! Tried finding this answer, but just couldn't. 93 HiJet S83P. I am in need of the gasket, maybe it's a donut gasket, I don't know, but the one between the manifold and first pipe. It appears to be held on with tension relief springs or something. Kinda afraid to try it myself for fear of breaking a stud in the manifold since I've never done that before. So I called my local general purpose mechanic who said sure, bring it and a replacement gasket over. Huh??? I should have known it wouldn't be an off the shelf thing before I called. Question, does anyone know if there is a direct replacement available from my local Auto Zone, or is that a specialty item? I really need to quiet this thing down before the season opens and I think this would do it. As usual, thanks for any support you fine folks can offer.

2. muddy moose

muddy moose Member

The one on mine was a stocked item. I brought mine in with me and matched it up....I'll look around to see if I still have the receipt. Might have the part number on it........just don't hold your breath!!! Hahaha I had to use more heat on these stud's with the springs on them than I have on anything for quite some time. I ended up heating them, then spraying the stud with cold water to be able to break them loose. I really didn't want to break em. Did that 3 poor 4 times and was able to get them to spin out easily. Then while I was there I removed all that exhaust plugging junk up inside the cateletic converter.....,.boy what a difference that made!!! Good luck man!!

3. splauchs

splauchs Member