1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Difference between models: ATACK, SDX, TOWN, etc

Discussion in 'Honda Acty' started by Frank Perkins, Nov 9, 2017.

1. Frank Perkins

Frank Perkins New Member

Hi All,

I just started learning about the mini truck world and I'm trying to narrow my focus on a particular model. If I did my research right, I need one that is at least 25 years old so I can register in the state of Connecticut. In looking at auctions, I noticed different designations of the 1989-1991 models. I was hoping that someone can help me identify what these mean:
    • HA-3 vs HA-4. Is this 2wd vs 4wd?
    • I see "models" of:
      • STD (Standard)
      • SDX (Super Deluxe)
      • TOWN (More Comfortable)
      • ATTCK (For farmers)
    • AT vs MT is automatic vs manual transmission so I'm good there
    • 660cc vs 550cc is the engine size so I got that too
    Does anyone know what options were available between the STD, SDX and TOWN models? I have been looking at pictures of vehicles for auction and I can't really tell.

2. matt167

matt167 Active Member

The SDX model is the most common Acty and basically has nice door panels. Some have A/C some have 5spds. I've never heard of the Town. If you look at the auction sheets, you'll see that 2wd and 4wd are in English so you can quickly determine that

The Acty is either 2wd or AWD depending on model and there is no low gear if you want that.. The Attack model does have a transmission with an EL reverse gear and an EL forward gear. So it's actually 6 forward with 2 reverse.