1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

DD51T Vacuum Puzzle

Discussion in 'Suzuki Carry' started by rwsem, Jul 2, 2013.

1. rwsem

rwsem Member

First a (re)introduction: "I'm Ron and I'm a newb". I can wrench, but am not a mechanic, per se; in other words, if I take it apart, I can put it back together but this puzzle is basically from scratch for me. I've read the "Desperately need tuning help!" thread- what a great read. So I understand how the 2-3 vacuum ports are supposed to be routed- the issue is, I'm not certain what the other end looks like.

For instance, here is my current situation:
    DSC00891.jpg

So, I decided to trace the line backward from the distributor (I know what that is...) and because I know there's a line connected to it. It traced back to the exhaust manifold- I don't know why. So that begat another question- what is supposed to connect here on the manifold?
    DSC00902.jpg

I've read the distributor vacuum line should be installed one way- is this a special (one way) line? You can see how this is going to go- I know the starting point on the carb, what I need to know it the trace- to include any valves in the line. ie: wth is a VTV/ check valve/ PCV etc? another example- I know which port/ line goes to the canister, I just don't know what the canister looks like and where it's located.

Finally, I spy things that look like there should be vacuum lines attached but there aren't any:
    DSC00900.jpg

So... I read some more threads- Can is Air Canister; is that correct? VSV is vacuum switch valve? Are there different sized VSVs, do I need to replace any which are inline, how do you test?. Blah blah blah.

Thanks in advance, Ron

Last edited: Jul 4, 2013
  2. Jim Nelson

Jim Nelson Active Member