1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Antique plates, or regular registration?

Discussion in 'General Truck Info' started by Eiger, May 23, 2021.

1. Eiger

Eiger New Member

I have a 25-year-old Suzuki Every van that I will be registering in Vermont, tomorrow. I just bought the vehicle, and I'm still learning about owning one of these vehicles here in the U.S.

My concern is, that mini trucks are considered illegal in many states, including Maryland, which is where my vehicle currently is, at the Port of Baltimore. I imported it directly from Japan.

I'm wondering if it would be wise to register the vehicle as an antique, so the van can be driven in most states? I'm flying down to Baltimore on Tuesday to drive the van home.

I really don't want to be stopped by the police for driving an illegal vehicle. I will stay off the interstates, as all 50 states ban mini trucks from them.

Any advice would be welcome.

2. Jigs-n-fixtures

Jigs-n-fixtures Well-Known Member

All states are required to honor the registration and plates from the other states. There is a gal here in town who has her Acty registered in Montana.

3. Eiger

Eiger New Member

The VT DMV gave me regular plates, and a standard registration. I'm good to go, without restrictions!

4. matt167

matt167 Active Member

It's all up to you. Antique in Vermont afaik does 2 things for you. It makes it inspection exempt, and it's a cheaper fee but otherwise unrestricted, but either way you can drive it unrestricted as VT does not restrict the usage.. My Jimny had an antique VT plate registered in NY and the local LEO's knew I lived local but really did not care