1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

92 Honda ACTY Problems/Advice

Discussion in 'Honda Acty' started by ryan_beasley, Sep 26, 2012.

1. ryan_beasley

ryan_beasley New Member

Hey guys I'm new to the forum and to mini trucks,
    Recently purchased a 92 Honda ACTY and love it. I am a decent mechanic, but not great. While easing down the road, it instantly loses power. Almost like you just shut off the ignition. I know it is getting fuel to the carb, it turns over great, no weird noises, but it will not crank up. I didn't have the tools to check sparkplugs at that time, but noticed these are not my typical plugs/wires I'm used to and didn't want to cause more harm than good on the side of the road. (possible help on how to get to plugs???) Finally get it to the mechanic, and he's struggling b/c everything is in Japanese. Is there a manual in English for these things??? At this time, he thinks it is a timing belt. I would think there would be a noise, slap, ting, ping, etc if it was the belt. Can I check this on my own? Is there a diagram online? Is there anything else that you guys would look at first? He said I'm probably looking at $500 worth of labor for him to do it. That seems a little steep for me for a timing belt change, but maybe I'm wrong. I have enough friends that we can tear it apart, but hate to tear into it and not know what to look for. ANY HELP is greatly appreciated.

Thanks Everybody!

RB

2. OutdoorsNS

OutdoorsNS Member