1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

92 carry

Discussion in 'Performance' started by okie, Mar 13, 2009.

1. okie

okie New Member

I'm new to this, so bear with me. I have a 92 suzuki carry. When coasting down hill it slows down. Jacked up front end. The front have a lot of resistance when trying to spin them. Does not seem to be the brakes. Any ideas? Also, there's a red light on the dash that is always on. It looks like a picture of a muffler with heat waves (wavy lines) above it. I have no idea what it means. Would appreciate any help. thanks

2. Mighty Milt

Mighty Milt Active Member

that's the catalytic converter overheat light... check and make sure your cat isn't plugged up.

when you say coasting do you mean with it out of gear or in gear and just letting off the gas? is it a dirt hill that would cause more resitance than a paved hill that will allow you to coast farther? as for it feeling "tight" it could be several different things... brakes dragging, degraded or over tightened wheel bearings. if the truck has a lift kit it could be binding the front CV joints and causing the drag.. that would be most noticeable when jacked up if you feel a clicking as your spin the tires.

3. cabinmini

cabinmini Member

Welcome okie

Welcome to our little part of the world.
    Have a look at this thread.
    http://www.minitrucktalk.com/showthread.php?t=4137
    I had a similar concern with mine but I think it is just the nature of the beast. Unless of course this is something new and there really is something extra wrong with yours. Mine continues to run along just great but I imagine this is part of the reason why we only get 30mpg instead of 50.
    Jim

4. WELDER

WELDER Member

Have you solved the problem yet? My cat error light is also on.

5. TRAX and HORNS

TRAX and HORNS Well-Known Member