1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

2" Lift on my 95 Carry....sort of

Discussion in 'General Truck Info' started by ShawnC, Dec 12, 2020.

1. ShawnC

ShawnC Member

I'm still fairly new to the mini trucks and the forum but figured I would post my experience with trying a 2 inch lift on my 1995 Suzuki Carry. After reading info from here, I decided I wanted to replace the front springs with 300lb springs and put a 2 inch lift on my truck. I knew there was a chance I would have some camber issues after the lift but I plunged forward anyway. Once I installed the new springs and 2 inch lift with camber adjustment and did a poor man's alignment, the camber was still off. I bought camber bolts and adjusted it to the max but it was still off a bit but I thought it would be okay.

I had an appointment at the dmv to get the carry inspected for title and that was really the first long drive I had since the installs. Well, once I got to 70kph, the dreaded death wobble started, thought the truck was going to come apart and I was going to lose my fillings. Made it to the dmv, got inspected, called a buddy and we trailered it back.

Needless to say I was frustrated. I had the lift for looks because I'm just running yokohama super diggers on stock wheels that I powder coated black and I didnt go with bigger tires so I decided to take out the lift. Started with the front and once the spacers were removed, I realized the new springs lifted the front of the truck probably 1 1/2 inches. I left the rear lift shackles on the truck and it is pretty level and the camber issue is gone. Did another alignment and tried another test drive. Drove it 20 miles, up to 80kph and no death wobble. Problem solved for me. Truck still looks like it has a lift, no camber problems, drives great. May not work for everyone but worked for me.

Double M Farm and Limestone like this.
  2. Limestone

Limestone Well-Known Member

Shawn,