1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

1994 Suzuki DD51B 4x4 issue

Discussion in 'Suzuki Carry' started by Brad Waddell, Jul 22, 2020.

1. Brad Waddell

Brad Waddell New Member

Hi all. I'm going to start this out by saying that I'm no mechanic but have a general understanding of most things and can usually figure it out with time. So my mini dumper last year had a new front differential and 4x4 shift cable installed. All has worked great until last week. So when I place in 4x4 the green light, axle lock, or differential lock light will not come on. The front shaft does turn and when you place in 4x4 low it goes into low gear. So mechanically I believe all is working alright but there's something taking place that won't fully engage it. The first time it happened I drove it and when I got home it worked fine. Hasn't worked since. I've checked the vacuum lines and removed the cover where the 4x4 shift lever is located. There appears to be a magnetic type switch there where the handle of the lever rests against that did not show any signal from. That's as far as I've went. I did wiggle some of the electrical connections around on the front diff but that's about it. Has anyone got any ideas where to search next? I've looked at other threads and it appears that it could be several different things. I believe its something really simple but what who knows. I take good care of my things so I know its not mud or something like that packed somewhere. I love this lil truck but I sure wish I knew more about it. I'd appreciate any and all advice in advance.

2. Brad Waddell

Brad Waddell New Member

Update for those who might have the same issue. Checked with G & R Imports and talked to Steve. He thought it might be my 4x4 command module. I gave up and let my local mechanic look at and he came up with the same thing. So, I've got a replacement coming and hopefully this takes care of it.

3. Koffer