1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

1991 Mits Minicab stiff gear shift

Discussion in 'Mitsubishi Minicab' started by RCminicab, May 17, 2023.

1. RCminicab

RCminicab New Member

Hello all. I'm new to forum but I've been driving my 1991 minicab since 2008. I don't tend to drive it in the winter and the last few seasons in the spring when I start driving it the gear shifter has been very stiff. It usually loosens up after a bit of use and everything is normal. This year it is again stiff but it has only loosened up for the fore/aft motion (eg 1st to 2nd gear) but not for the lateral (side to side) motion. It doesn't seem to be the cables. It seems to be in the transmission. I suspect its the shafts (I don't know the proper name for these shafts) that turn when the gear shift cable pushes/pulls and then engage the shifter forks. Maybe there is a bushing in there that's worn out or something.....

Anyone else experienced this? Anyone know if I can dis-assemble the top of the transmission with it in the truck ( to get at the cable to shifter fork connections)? Anyone that has done this have any sage advice. Anyone have any manual showing how to do this? Parts diagram?

Attached Files:

2. Bowe

Bowe Member

If you haven’t already it would be worth removing the shift boot and lubing the pivot points even if it doesn’t seem like the cables.

3. RCminicab

RCminicab New Member

Thanks Bowe.

So this has turned into the worst kind of problem.....I went out to work on the problem tonight and everything now works as it should. I hate problems that "go away" with no known root cause - they usually re-appear at the worst of times.